2018-07-05 / News

Teachers/Support Person of the Year named at annual recognition luncheon

DAVISON — Three teachers and a challenge coordinator were named as recipients of the ninth annual Teacher of the Year and Support Person the Year awards sponsored by the Davison Educational Foundation. This is the ninth year the award has been sponsored by the DEF.

This year, 184 nominations from students, parents and fellow teachers were submitted for the Teacher of the Year awards. Recipients are selected in three categories: High School Teacher of the Year, Hahn/ Middle School Teacher of the Year and Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Winners were selected by a committee comprised of their peers.

High School Teacher of the Year

Louis Renner, who teaches woods at Davison High School, was selected at High School Teacher of the Year. Renner is sponsor for the House of Cards Robotics Team 3534 as well as the Davison Middle School robotics team. He received six nominations from parents and students

Other nominees for the High School Teacher of the Year award included: Ev Ailing, Matt Ames, Co- lette Cavric, Pam Colvin, Brett Coron, T.J. Fischhaber, Ron Fray, Ruth Friske, Christine Harrison, Laurie Heath, Lindsey Hollenback, Shannon Kelsey, Darcey Kondel, Shaun Kovatch, Shawn Lewis, Linda Martin, Andy Michalik, Susan Miller, Amanda Mobley, Greg Moriartey, Michelle Nuckolls, Raina Palso, Margaret Richmond, Amy Sherlock, Blake Smith, Ryan Suchy and Crystal Weekley.

Hahn/Davison Middle School Teacher of the Year

Hahn Intermediate Teacher Dave Clifford was selected as this year’s winner. Clifford teaches fifth grade at Hahn Intermediate.

Other nominees included teachers Jodee Collick, Jan Crawford, Chantel Doyle, Janet Green, Kirk Hansen, Amie Hicks, Tiffany Hopper, Theresa Jones, Kari Konkle-Szaro, Bob Konzman, Jody Kosiara, Kim LaFave, John Marttila, Katie Naves, Stephanie Owens, Julie Pattee, Amber Rogers, Shawnna Shorkey, Lorie Smith, Sarah Smith-Clark, Kristen Souders, Robin Streu, Jesse Szatkowski, Ray Timmerman, Tisha Torres, Patti White and Michelle Wilson.

Elementary Teacher of the Year

Central Elementary teacher Becky Romzek is the 2018-19 Elementary Teacher of the Year. Romzek teaches third graders at Central Elementary and received several nominations, including one from a former student.

Other nominees for Elementary Teacher of the Year were: Andrea Bell, Bart Blanchard, Julie Buzzell, Faith Canning, Jennifer Carnell, Amy Chorley, Stephen Culbert, Cayla Dowdall, Sarah Driskill, Stacy Evans, Darlene Fisher, Brad Fuson, Marie Glenn, Elizabeth Green, Tracy Griggs, Libby Holder, Crystal Holland, Nicole Illig, Melissa Jones, Kristen Kirchner, Lindsay Lane, Melvina Lightfoot, Gwen Lindsay, Leandra Lints, Andrea McDunnah, Rebecca McConnell, Cindy McCollum, Ellen Meinecke, Ben Montgomery, Erin O’Connor, Linda Strine, Erica Thwing-Medbery, Tammy Trombley, Christy Turner and Rachel Wheaton.

Walter Smith, a challenge coordinator at Gates Elementary, was named “Support Person of the Year.” Nearly 70 nominations were received for the Davison Educational Foundation Support Person of the Year award.

In addition to Smith, nominees included: Chris Adolph, Jim Bass, Brianna Book, Cardinal’s Nest staff, Catherine Curl, Sue Dorman, Tiffany Echols, Terri Forbes, Christine Fortune, Ofc. Chad Haynes, Joe Francis, Christine Grech, Sara Harris, Matt Hatton (METS), Becky Holt, Katherine Jurasek, Clarence Mallory, Tena Muckenthaler, Megan Novak, David Peters, Diane Rhines, Diana Rutherford, Megan Rule, Tiffany Sayles, Chris Schlak, Gretchen Scofield, Sue Seymour, Marilyn Strader, Marcia Taylor, Kay Tessner, Micah Tharpe, Wendy Tiggart, Cindy VanSipe and Amy Walker.

Teachers of the Year and the Support Person of the Year receive a plaque, a front row parking space at their school building for the school year and $500 to be spent in their classroom or building. — G.G.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 The Davison Index, All Rights Reserved

Click here for digital edition
2018-07-05 digital edition